Spicy Vegan Coconut Noodles

As Memphis’ winter weather becomes increasingly unpredictable, I find it difficult to accept that the first day of Spring is less than two weeks away.  My birthday is in the first week of March, and while I’m usually treated to the last round of snow that happens every year at that time, I spent this year enduring a record-breaking 70 degrees.  What?

Since winter is my favorite season, I stubbornly decided to indulge in one of my favorite cold-weather recipes one last time before it gets too warm.

The whole dish is extremely quick and easy to make.  I paired it with a raw kale salad and no-oil roasted sweet potato wedges.  (I’ll happily post recipes for those, if wanted!)  I even dipped some of the wedges into the sauce, and it was delicious.

IMG_5674-1

Ingredients

  1. 8oz Wide-Cut Fettucine
  2. 1 3/4 Cup Plain Coconut Milk
  3. 3 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  4. 1 Tbsp Chili Paste
  5. 3 Scallions, thinly sliced
  6. Optional Toppings: Toasted Cashews, Coconut Shavings, Basil

Directions

  1. Boil noodles.  Rinse and set aside.
  2. Over medium heat, combine the coconut milk, chili paste, and tomato paste.
  3. When it begins to boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 2-4 minutes, or until desired consistency.
  4. In a bowl, pour the sauce over the noodles and toss.
  5. Top with sliced scallions, and any additional garnish.  (I had about a 1/2 cup of raw cashews leftover from my Vegan Eggnog recipe, so I toasted those and added them to my dish.)
Leave a Reply

