Ikea Memphis | A Photo Tour

If somehow you hadn’t heard, yesterday was the long-awaited grand opening of Memphis’ very own IKEA.  It seems like everyone’s been talking about it, and while I typically stay away from stores when they first open, I decided this would be a special case.

I’ve been to the IKEA in Austin, which was pretty impressive, so honestly I was kind of excited myself.  I dragged a partner along for the ride, and we braved the hundreds of people and cars that had swarmed Cordova.

img_20161214_193354

We got there around 7:30PM.  The main parking lot was roped off, and they were redirecting traffic to the church nearby, with shuttles running back and forth.  Super comfortable, and we had tv!

20161214_193939_lls

img_5283

img_5285

When we entered, some employees were handing out maps (yes, please!), and greeting us with carts.  Seriously, everybody who works there is so nice.

img_5287

img_5289

img_5291

The first areas you walk through are living spaces, couches, etc.  One cool thing is that the tell you the square footage of the staged areas, so if you’re on a space budget, you know exactly what can fit.

img_5292

img_5294

img_5296

img_5302

Next, you have kitchen areas, which were my favorite.  Since we’re talking about remodeling ours, I spent extra time here.

img_5304

img_5305

img_5306

img_5310

img_20161214_205314

Of course, I had to Instagram my favorite one.  The faucet is actually a sprayer that pops out!

img_5320

img_5321

img_5322

img_5325

img_5326

There is also a marketplace near the cafe where you can buy packaged versions of their food.

img_5331

img_5332

In the kitchen supplies area, I spotted these cute tea diffusers that float around in your cup.  I drink a lot of tea, so I may be coming back for these.

img_5334

img_5336

img_5337

img_5338

Lamps were the one thing I knew I wanted to look at, because I needed another of these awesome bendable desk lights.  I bought a silver one for a gift last year, and liked it so much that I wanted a copper one for myself.  They’re very bright, and have a heavy weight in the bottom that keeps them stable.

img_5340

img_5342

The other half of IKEA is a giant warehouse that looks like the one from the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark.  Here is where you hunt down your furniture to buy it.  There are also some handy computer stations to look up where your stuff is shelved.

img_5341

img_5343

img_5345

img_5346

img_5349

In addition to a small food kiosk on your way out, there is a markdown area where you can find discounted pieces or replacement parts for your furniture.

IKEA is giving away select furniture and gift cards through the weekend, so check out their website for the details.  Even though there’s bound to be a crowd for a while, I definitely recommend going.  It’s very inspiring.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

