Monthly Favorites | August 2016

Hopefully, everyone’s settling into a less frantic routine by now.  People are coming back from their last big vacations of the season, kids are back in school, and it cooled off nicely for a few days.

The first week of September came and went, and I was so busy with 901 Day that I completely forgot my plan to start a Monthly Favorites series.  Oops.

Basically, at the end of every month, I want to share my kitchen obsessions.  Things I eat, drink, or can’t live without.  If you have anything you were in love with, tell me about it in the comments!


13938021_1070743806341547_5229042535280599069_o

1. Belle Ambiance Pinot Grigio

This is probably my favorite summer wine. It has subtle notes of lemon and white peach, giving it a medium body and crisp finish. This Pinot Grigio is citrus-y without being overpowering or making your throat burn like other whites.  It’s very refreshing, and pretty much all that’s been in my wine glass for the last few months.  You can find it at Buster’s for $8.99.

1469137165248

2. Cherry & Sungold Tomatoes

I’ve been munching on these almost constantly since July.  I’ve used them in salads, caprese, and even just by themselves.  They’re lightly acidic, and have a yummy pop of flavor.  While Sungolds are now hard to come by, you can still pick up my favorite cherry tomatoes at Curb Market in Midtown.

3. Riverside Artisanal Banana Breads

You’ve seen me write about Riverside before.  Carter Beard makes some of the best banana bread around, so I snagged a loaf of his Chocolate Banana Bread. I like to toast one slice, add Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese, and pair it with some fresh fruit.  Soooo good.

4192faeae691deef121b73567759f1d8

4. Organic Shiro Miso Soup Base

While you may think I’m crazy for loving soup in the summer, this is my favorite quick lunch fix.  I typically keep a tub of it in my fridge, and add 2-3 drops sesame oil while cooking, and top with 1 shake of shichimi pepper and shredded nori.  It’s a big source of protein and antioxidants, and also has a lot of manganese, zinc, phosporous, and copper.  It’s organic and non-GMO, too, so that’s another plus.

5. Shiitake Mushrooms

This is something else I tend to throw in soup or pasta to dress it up and add extra nutrients.  I get the 10oz dehydrated bag from Cordova International Market for about $8, which is pretty inexpensive for this kind of mushroom.  For soup, I like to re-hydrate these about 80%, rinse, then finish hydrating in the cooking soup.  I feel like this infuses the soup’s flavor into the mushroom, and it’s really tasty.

I also recently used these to make a vegetarian Stroganoff, traditionally a beef-based dish, and it was amazing.  They were the perfect chewy texture.

Photo courtesy of ChooseVeg

 

6. Fusia Mini Veggie Egg Rolls

I came across these little gems at Aldi.  They’re back in the freezer section, and come about 7 per box with 2 packets of sweet sauce.  They’re a quick, easy snack, and don’t have a lot of garlic like others do.  The only thing I wish was that there was slightly more cabbage and carrot inside.  But nonetheless, worth the buy!

2016-09-07 09.09.23 1.jpg

7. My Goodwill Wine Glass

I’m a big treasure hunter, and I love glassware.  This aqua-tinted, teardrop-shaped piece came from the big Goodwill on Stage Road for about $.50.  No scratches.  The bottom is fairly thick, too, so I don’t feel like I’m going to smash it when I set it down, and if you bump it, it’s not going anywhere.  I definitely recommend vintage stores if you need extra dishes, because you can find some cool things.


 

Was there anything you couldn’t live without in August?  Let me know in the comments, or on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

